We Leave with Nothing but Love


Melting the Stress away
January 15, 2011, 1:00 pm
Filed under: Food, Living

Today I made the easiest, most delicious dinner sanwich of all time. Since I moved to LA for college, I have bee a fan of the sandwich melt shop, Philippes. They have many healthy options, but all are filling and delicious.

The family I cook for is working on balancing out their carbs and proteins. The dad actually has ADHD, and he also gets extraordinarily tired when he has too many carbs. According to the Zone diet that they want to follow, they are having me make food that has about 9 carbs for every 7 proteins. Woops, I am pretty sure I personally have a carb fetish and would prefer to dominate the carbs at all times. The pizza and enchiladas both overpower the carbs and minimize the proteins…

Here’s the good news, for all sandwich-loving zone-dieters: this French dip sandwich has about 39 carbs and 31 protein!

I got these sandwich rolls from the bakery section of Albertsons. They were light and delicious!

  • Use three slices of meat (roast beef, turkey, or lamb)
  • 1 slice of provologne cheese, cut in half
  • 1 can of  beef consomme
  • Mustard of choice (optional)

Slice the bread rolls in half, and place them in the broiler with the cheese on top. Be careful about the rolls- they could be done toasting in all o f 30 seconds.

In a medium sauce pan, heat the beef consomme over the stove, and add one can full of water. Once the consomme is hot, place the meat slices in the mixture. Place the meat on the cheesey bread, add mustard if you like. We kept a little bowl of dip on the side to dip the sandwich in as we ate.

With a bowl of fruit salad on the side, this is the most ideal 10-minute meal for a Friday evening. 39 carbs, 31 proteins and all the week’s stress just melts away with the provologne.

Lesson of the week:

The dad asked me what I have learned so far as their cook. The biggest thing I have been learning, aside from all the theological and ecclesiological discussions with him, is timing. This is my third part-time job, and I need to be done cooking within an hour to get to my second one on time. Also, after preparing for class and searching for full-time accounting jobs, I don’t have the energy for anything more. Being in a new house with new rules and interests has been a adaptation challenge, and definitely slowed me down. I need to balance grocery-shopping, recipe-hunting, and diet-following every evening, or else fall down a slippery slope of time loss. Now that it is the weekend, I will just add a few minutes of recipe research, and the week should be golden.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment