We Leave with Nothing but Love


The New Cook in Town
January 7, 2011, 2:00 pm
Filed under: Food, Living

This is the first of hundreds of recipes I plan to share. I have started cooking for a family too busy to cook, but too health- and wallet- conscious to keep eating out every night. Grocery shopping and trying new recipes are a couple hobbies I enjoy but can’t afford to do on my own yet. Now I get paid to practice both every day!

To practice on my own, I made a meal for my apartment. I found a curry season packet at Raph’s, so I made curry chicken and rice with potatoes and bell peppers:

First of all, I always boil chicken in water to defrost and tenderize it. The recipe was very simply explained on the curry seasoning packet, but I used coconut milk instead of water and added some potatoes for texture. With brown rice, this made a filling, delicious meal for my roommates and me!

Then, crepes for dessert:

I got the recipe here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Vanilla-Crepes/Detail.aspx.

All you need is milk, egg yolks, vanilla, flour, sugar, salt, adn butter. We spread nutella inside, and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. Very simple and delicious!

Day 1 of cooking on the job for the family, I made a simple chicken Parmesan recipe, to make a  Parmesan chicken salad:

  • 10 chicken breasts
  • 2 cups parmesan cheese
  • 2 packets dry Italian salad dressing mix
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup oil

Preheat oven to 400, and just mix together the garlic, Italian mix, and cheese in a medium-sized bowl. Dip each defrosted chicken breast in oil, and press into the cheese mix. Bake the chicken on a greased pan for about 40 minutes, or until the chicken is thoroughly cooked.

Day 2, made pineapple pizza and used some of the leftover chicken from the night before.

The crust was very quick and easy to make: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Quick-and-Easy-Pizza-Crust/Detail.aspx

I added a lot of spices to the crust, and after laying out the crust on the pizza stone, i brushed oil with garlic powder over the surface. I also sprinkled some extra salt over the crust to keep the flavors interesting. The pineapple contrasted the parmesan chicken flavor perfectly! Add salad to the meal, and it’s pretty decent!

More to come. I plan to make some of these desserts for the family as well:


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment